On Feb. 17, 1989 the treaty that gave birth to the formation of Arab Maghreb Union (AMU) was signed in Marrakech, Morocco. Representing the 5-member countries at the summit were King Hassan II of Morocco, Col. Muammar Gaddafi of Libya,  President Zine El Abidine Ben Ali of Tunisia, President Chadli Bendjedid of Algeria,  and Col. Maaouya Ould Sid’Ahmed Taya of Mauritania.

AMUS’ basic objective is geared toward increasing inter-regional trade and cooperation, the preservation of listing peace and security in the Maghreb. Despite the geographical proximity, historical and cultural and economic similarities which Maghreb states share, they are endowed with resources that are dissimilar. The Union has been unable to achieve tangible progress on its goals due to deep economic and political disagreements between Morocco and Algeria regarding, among others, the issue of Western Sahara. Its members are:  Algeria, Libya, Mauritania, Morocco,  Tunisia.

Subscribe To African Marketplace Newsletter to Receive Discounts and Sale Promotion Offers

Join our mailing list to receive the latest news and updates from our team.

You have Successfully Subscribed!