European Union

The European Union (EU) is a political and economic union of 28 member states that are located primarily in Europe. The EU has developed a single internal market through a standardized system of laws that apply in all member states in those matters, and only those matters, where members have agreed to act as one. EU policies aim to ensure the free movement of people, goods, services, and capital within the internal market, enact legislation in justice and home affairs and maintain standard policies on trade, agriculture, fisheries, and regional development.

A monetary union was established in 1999 and came into full force in 2002 and is composed of 19 EU member states which use the euro currency. The eurozone consists of the following states:

Austria Germany Poland
Belgium Greece Portugal
Bulgaria Hungary Romania
Croatia Ireland Slovakia
Cyprus Italy Slovenia
Czechia Latvia Spain
Denmark Lithuania Sweden
Estonia Luxembourg United Kingdom[k]
Finland Malta
France Netherlands

Population (2019 estimate) 513,481,691
GDP (PPP), 2018 estimate $22.0 trillion
Per capita $43,150
GDP (nominal) 2018 estimate  $18.8 trillion
 Per capita $36,580

Subscribe To African Marketplace Newsletter to Receive Discounts and Sale Promotion Offers

Join our mailing list to receive the latest news and updates from our team.

You have Successfully Subscribed!